Government Affairs Committee

Outstanding Leadership in Government Nominee Criteria

  • Has made themselves available to ManufactureCT by attending meetings or being responsive to communications.
  • Has supported legislation advancing the cause of manufacturing in Connecticut.
  • Provides clear and tangible leadership on manufacturing related issues.
  • Active participation in the manufacturing caucus.
  • Introduced, co-sponsored or worked on legislation that would be beneficial to the manufacturing community.
  • Can be from the Connecticut House or Senate – one winner from each chamber may be chosen.

Outstanding Leadership in Government Affairs Winners – 2021

State Representative Kara Rochelle is a second-term State Representative serving Ansonia and Derby’s 104th district. In her second term, State Representative Rochelle served as Vice Chair of the Commerce Committee and serves on the Higher Education & Employment Advancement Committee, and Insurance & Real Estate Committee. She also serves on the Manufacturing Caucus. Representative Rochelle has been a friend to manufacturing having written and passed legislation to create a pilot program to expand the community college Advanced Manufacturing Certificate Program to more high schools across the state and she secured funding for Ansonia High School students to take advantage of Derby’s Advanced Manufacturing Certificate Program.

State Senator Joan Hartley is in her 10th term as a State Senator of the 15th district representing Waterbury, Naugatuck and Middlebury. Prior to that, she was a representative for 16 years representing the 73rd district. Senator Hartley serves as Chair of the Commerce Committee and Manufacturing Caucus. She also serves as Vice Chair of the Appropriations Committee and on the Banking; Executive & Legislative Nominations committeeSenator Hartley is a huge friend to Manufacturing having sponsored many key manufacturing bills and being a great partner to the CMC.

Government Affairs Survey Results
These will be the focus of the Government Affairs Committee over the course of the next year.

  • Workforce Development: Expansion of Manufacturing Programs (Experiential Learning) in Public Schools
  • Workforce Development: Expansion of Manufacturing Programs (Precision Manufacturing, Mechatronics) in Technical High Schools
  • Energy: Electric Rates
  • Financial/Taxes: Expand R&D Tax Credits to S-Corps (currently available to C-Corps)
  • Energy: Renewable Energy Programs
  • Financial/Taxes: Workers Comp costs
  • Technology: Data Privacy Regulations/Cyber Security
  • Health Care: Public Health Care Option via State of Connecticut
  • Health Care: Health Care/Insurance Legislated Mandates.
  • Workforce Development: Expand Apprenticeship tax credits to S-Corps (currently available to C-Corps)
  • Environmental: Packaging Regulation/Legislation
  • Environmental: DEEP Policies and Procedures (includes Transfer Act)
  • Transportation: Public Transportation Accessibility For Employees
  • Health Care: Pandemic responses and workforce issues relating to COVID 19
  • Health Care: Paid Family and Medical Leave Amendments (PFMLA)

Where to Next?

Manufacturing Executives Peer Group
Member Benefits
Sponsorship Benefits